News, Politics

12 NPP Candidates Join Brikama And KMC National Assembly Election Race

Twelve candidates sponsored by the National People’s Party (NPP) on Wednesday filed their nomination papers at the Brikama and KMC regional IEC offices for next month’s National Assembly elections. They are Lamin Bojang of Brikama North, Malanding B. Jabang of Brikama South, Momodou Bojang of Kombo South, Baba Galleh Jallow of Senementereng, Saikouba Jarju of Busumbala, Essa Dampha of Kombo East, Abdoulie Ceesay of Old Yundum, Amadou S. Leigh of Serekunda, Mustapha of Serekunda West, Saikou Marong of Latrikunda Sabiji, Fatoumatta K. Jawara of Tallinding Kunjang and Assan Dampha, of Bakau.

Launching his re-election bid for Sanementereng ward, Baba Galleh Jallow told reporters that his constituents have decided he should serve another five years.

“It is my responsibility to serve them in Parliament,” he added while emphasizing that women and the youths will top his priorities.

The NPP announced recently that it will put up 40 candidates with a view to winning a comfortable majority in the National Assembly.

As Gambian youths continue to embark on the perilous journey to Europe, Jallow said If elected, he will address youth unemployment.

Asked whether he will throw his weight behind the anticorruption bill, he made it clear that he is going to support it.

According to many observers, corruption has become a sporting activity in the tiny West African nation, impacting negatively on gov’t efforts to improve the economy of the country.

The NPP candidate for Kombo South, Momodou Bojang, who also spoke to journalists, said he will make sure to deliver on expectations ‘for the best interest of this nation.’

However, he declined to answer to questions about the Chinese-owned company Golden Lead, which has been accused by environmentalists of polluting by discharging toxic waste into the sea.

“I am going to reserve my opinion on that,” he said.

Meanwhile, the National People’s Party (NPP) candidates in other regions including North Bank Region (NBR), Upper River Region (URR), Central River Region (CRR), Lower River Region (LRR) and Banjul submitted their nomination papers to the respective IEC offices in those regions.

Comments are closed.